Shred Diet by Dr. Ian Smith: Week One Workouts!

Posted on March 9, 2013

2


I’m one day away from completing the first week of Dr. Smith’s Shred Diet and I’m feeling good. I worked out at Flex Circuit Gym on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday I rested Thursday and Friday and I began a boot camp offered by the gym on Saturday mornings. Sunday (Day 7) calls for a split session of cardio totalling 40 minutes, so I will probably hit the gym and then walk around Lake Merritt later in the day.

That’s the plan; I just have to make sure that I stick to it. flexbootcamp

I’m finding it easier to work out in the evening because waking up at 5:30 a.m isn’t my thing. That and working out at night helps me to release the stress created during the work day. Lol working out at night also replaces happy hour, and although I miss some of the NBA games it’s a nice trade-off.

Boot camp was hard but I enjoyed it…I get bored easily so it was nice to be outside in the sunshine and not inside on a machine. Flex also offers other classes such as Zumba, TRX, Boxing, Spin, Piloxing (boxing and pilates) and several forms of Yoga. I plan on joining the boxing class in a few weeks and training with a personal trainer a few days a week. For now I’m easing back into it with cardio and circuit weight training. I also recently found out that the church near my house offers a free circuit training class, similar to CrossFit, every Tuesday night at 8 p.m. I’m going to check it out next week.

All in all things are going great! I don’t feel like I’m missing anything because nothing is really off limits. So far I’ve survived lunch at an italian deli with my coworkers and a kiddie birthday party; which wasn’t hard considering the menu. They had bdaypicchicken, broccoli, spinach salad and macaroni and cheese. I had  a very small portion of the mac n cheese, one bite of birthday cake and called it good. I was so relieved when my friend said her 5-year old’s favorite food was broccoli. YES!!!!!

Anyway, I weigh in on Monday and I will post a video on my final results from week one and my plan of survival for week two.

As always I appreciate all of the support from my friends and family as well as friends on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube. There are a lot of people who are a part of the Shredder Nation and we are shredding pounds together one day at a time. My girl Amber Wright of talktoamber.com is holding me down too. We are definitely in this together; we check in via email and text during the week too.

You can follow my journey on Twitter: @BaileysBlast and on Facebook all you have to do is ‘like’ my Bailey’s Blast page.

###

