Orange October: Giants Win Game One of the World Series!

Posted on October 24, 2012

0


I’ve lived in the bay area just over a year now and although I dislike the San Francisco 49ers and don’t follow baseball much, I have to say that I love the vibe around here when the local teams are winning; it’s electric.

Yes baseball is the only sport that I understand but don’t pay close attention to so when the Giants play in the World Series I become that fan. The fan I despise…the band wagoner. I don’t go hard though; I mean I’m not suddenly fighting with other fans and repping the squad but I do give mad props to Giants fans, I’ll wear my tee and I’m supportive. I’m from Nor Cal and don’t have a team so I’m chill.

Even if you’re not a Giants fan or a baseball fan for that matter you have to admit that the 2012 season has been amazing. I was shocked at how the Orange Men fought to win the pennant on Monday beating the Cardinals 9-0 in Game 7 of the National League Championship Series. I’m not a true fan but I’m a sports fan and that was awesome…just like Brian Wilson’s orange manicure lol.

That brings us to game one of the World Series on Wednesday night…everybody was watching to see how the San Francisco Giants would open up the series against the Detroit Tigers and they didn’t let fans down. I went to boot camp at about six o’ clock and the ladies were tuned in and getting updates on their phones. They are hard core and I love it!

One lady ran in late and said, “I’m sorry I’m late but the Giants are leading and Pablo Sandoval is going for it! It’s crazy”

She was right…I got home to see that the third basemen hit three home runs in the 8-3 victory placing him in a very elite club with Babe Ruth, Reggie Jackson, and Albert Pujols.

The fans here in Oakland were super pumped too. My neighbors were even in on it. The guys downstairs were shouting, “This is Orange October BABY!!!! Let’s GOOOO!!!” I just chuckled and gave them a high five.

Hang in there Giants fans I’m hoping every night is like the first one. I took notes in 2010 when the Giants last won the World Series and it seems like they really turn it up when it counts I guess that’s what Orange October is all about.

Who knows maybe I’ll head to a bar in the city to catch a game with friends so I can get right in the mix.

#OrangeOctober

###

