Dunk of the Year? Wait…it’s only January!

Posted on January 31, 2012

2


So…I was going to let this “Dunk of the Year” nonsense go without saying anything, but this has gotten completely out of control.

ESPN has pushed me to the limit on their ability to pump ANY and EVERYTHING! I’m watching SportsCenter on Tuesday night and John Brenkus is breaking down the differences in Blake Griffin’s dunk over Kendrick Perkins and LeBron James’ dunk over John Lucas III.

I love the Los Angeles Clippers but seriously…ENOUGH ALREADY!

How can any dunk be the dunk of the year when the NBA has only been in session two months and we haven’t even approached the second month of 2012 yet?

Uhhhmmm hello!

I saw both dunks and I thought LeBron’s dunk looked like something the guys prepare for during the Slam Dunk Contest at the NBA All-Star Weekend. He floated over Lucas and dunked the ball with one hand…it was awesome.

Now that’s not say that Griffin’s slam over Perkins didn’t leave an impact. I mean he slammed the rock with intensity, passion and precision. That should teach Perkins to get in the way of last year’s Slam Dunk Contest winner.

Lol you better ask somebody about BG!

Beastly? YES!

Better? I’m not so sure.

There is still a lot of NBA basketball to be played. I am so excited that these guys come out and put on a great show, especially since the Los Angeles Clippers are putting it down but can we please wait on crowning this year’s dunk master?

The chatter will continue and I will continue to be annoyed with all of it but I’m almost sure ESPN will solve the great debate this summer during the ESPY Awards show.

Hmmm after the season is over? What a concept!

###

