History Repeats Itself!

Posted on January 15, 2012

0


It’s been about nine years since the San Francisco 49ers have made the playoffs, and after a 13-3 regular season Niner fans are ecstatic to see their squad return to glory.

It’s funny because as a child in Sacramento I didn’t know what an NFL post season was without the 49ers and although I’m a hardcore Green Bay Packer fan, I’m ecstatic for the 49ers faithful.

You guys are a little crazy but I’m happy for you none the less.

I just moved to the bay area, and although I didn’t go to Candle Stick Park I made sure I hit the city to take in all of the sights and sounds.

Every bar in town was packed…but we made our way through the crowds just in time to watch what ended up being a playoff classic.

The 49ers defense is a force to be reckoned with; turnovers and fumbles plagued the 1st half.

The score at halftime was 17-14. Anybody’s game right? Wrong!

The 2nd half was crazy. After exchanging touch downs it all came down to the last few minutes of the 4th quarter.

I gave Alex Smith so much crap all season. My favorite thing to say is “Alex Smith is still Alex Smith.” Well Saturday Alex Smith looked like Alex Smith alright…he looked like the quarterback that the 49er faithful have been waiting for since he left Utah and was drafted in the 1st round.

2:11 left in the 4th and Smith runs the ball in for a 28-yard touchdown. The two point conversion was no good and the Niners went up 24-23.

The fans in bar lost it and began shouting, “Let’s Go Niners…Let’s GO!”

1:37 left…New Orleans Saints ball. Drew Brees hits Jimmy Graham for a 66-yard touchdown pass. Saint lead 32-29.

Uh-Oh…we’ve got a situation!

The Niners go up the field and with 11 seconds left on the board Alex Smith hits who else? Vernon Davis!

Final Score 36-32. The crowd erupted! Beer flew in the air and the game was over!

That final play was bittersweet for me as Packers fan.

I mean of course I’m happy for my Northern Cali counterpart but…Daggamitt if that play wasn’t a blast from the past! I remember when T.O caught that pass in double coverage with three seconds left on the clock against my Green bay Packers. I remember t like it was yesterday. My heart fell out of my chest, as my boys cheers all erupted in my dad’s living room. They got kicked the hell out…of course.

But as we all know history repeats itself and Saturday it did just that! The touchdown by Davis is now being referred to as “The Grab.”

Big Ups to the 49er faithful!

The Niners face the New York Giants in the NFC Championship game next Sunday at Candle Stick Park.

You are now in control of your destiny.

###

Posted in: Football, NFL, Sports