Now Or Never!

Posted on December 31, 2011

1


2011 has been an amazing year in sports. We had a few snags with the NFL lockout and the extended NBA lockout but it’s all up and running the way it’s designed to and this fan is a happy camper.

I decided not to recap the year with highlights and low points, instead I’d like to take this time to say Thank You to all of the crazy FANatics around the world…honestly we make this thing GO!

Like me, you eat, live, sleep, and breathe your teams. We approach each match-up with passion, enthusiasm and pride. We build friendships and relationships based on team colors and intense rivalries and unfortunately some of us take it too far and cause rifts and indulge in violence based on the same. The bottom line is this; whatever the sport, it’s more than just a game.

For instance, I knew 2011 was going to be GREAT year when my Green Bay Packers won the Super Bowl. (Now before you all start rolling your eyes…let me explain.)

I came into 2011 broken and hopeless. As many of you know, I lost my job as a reporter in 2008 and every door related to my career seemed sealed shut for about two years. I lost more than my career though, I suffered major financial losses, my confidence took a hit, I questioned my existence and purpose in life and I simply could not win. Nothing worked! I was ready to throw in the towel but something inside of me couldn’t give up. Plus, my family, friends and mentors wouldn’t let me give up. {You are all amazing…Thank You!}

Right before the New Year, I had a conversation with my girlfriend Amber Wright and we decided that 2011 was IT! We coined it “Now or Never!” I turned 30 this year, and although my life plan fell apart I decided that if I couldn’t get back on track this year…it would never happen!

That’s where my Packers come in…NOBODY expected that squad to show up and “Beast Out” the way they did last year. The Packers beat the Bears and then blazed through the playoffs, only to hit the big stage injured and tired, but they did it! I’m a sucker for pre-game, halftime and post-game speeches so Charles Woodson’s speech and (now famous) quote, “One mind, one goal, one purpose, and one heart” inspired much more than the inscription on their Super Bowl rings. I wrote it down and tucked it away!

I remembered my 1st love, decided to tap into my gift and just go for it! I moved to the Bay Area, connected with other ladies who are smashing their goals in half and things are falling into place. God is restoring the things I lost and my career is taking off again. I started this blog (soon to be website), I also recently started contributing to GuysGirl.com and next year I’m slated to join Girlfriends Talk Sports w/KFrye. I’m so PUMPED!

Sure this post is a “softer side” of Bailey but I thought you should all know my story. 2011 brought so many opportunities and I’m excited for 2012.

I encourage all of you to find that thing that drives you, protect it, and nurture it and GO HARD IN THE PAINT! {Hmmm could that be 2012’s motto?}

My dad taught me all of the ‘ins and outs’ of football and a lot of his sports philosophies translate the same in life. He’d always say, “Just nine yards at a time! You’re bound to score!” It’s true! In life and in football!

As we close out the year, I just want to Thank All of YOU for your support. My blog is getting so much love and respect…it’s crazy! I know that my opinions are often biased and obnoxious but that’s the point. Lol, my antics will just continue as the New Year progresses, I will even talk more NBA action!

Let’s make 2012…even better than 2011.

After all, if you don’t go after your goals NOW they may NEVER happen.

Blessings,

Bailey

###

