Deal Breaker!

Posted on December 10, 2011

2


The NBA lockout ended officially on Thursday when the new collective bargaining agreement was ratified. Training camps and free agency began Friday, but the drama and backlash surrounding the Chris Paul trade will be the topic of discussion for quite a while.

I was actually prepping for my next GuysGirl.com article on ‘Men in Uniform’ when my phone started blowing up Thursday night. The first sign came in the form of a text that read, “It’s about to go down Maam.”  Of course, I didn’t know what was going on, so you can imagine how my heart sank when the next text came through. “CP3 is a Laker.” I thought that my friend was playing a mean joke on my broken {Sacramento Kings} heart, but as the other texts and phone calls came in, I realized that the Los Angeles Lakers were about to be a thorn in my left side again this year.

Here’s how it was supposed to go down:

The New Orleans Hornets reached a deal with the Houston Rockets and the Los Angeles Lakers that would have sent Chris Paul to play in LA with Kobe.

With Paul in purple and gold, the proposed trade would have sent Pau Gasol to the Rockets and Kevin Martin, Luis Scola, Lamar Odom , Goran Dragic and a 2012 first-round pick (from the Rockets) to New Orleans.

Well…less than an hour after the trade information was released, Commissioner David Stern stepped in and vetoed the deal. The problem is that the NBA owns the New Orleans Hornets, so fans and players are both calling foul for the obvious conflict of interest.

To add insult to injury, some sources claim that Cleveland Cavalier owner, Dan Gilbert, was the first to address the deal via email, calling the proposed trade “a travesty” and urging Stern to put the deal to a vote of “the 29 owners of the Hornets,” meaning the rest of the league’s teams hadn’t added their two cents on the deal.

Uhhhhhhmmmm can I say something? Who doesn’t see what’s happening here?

I hate the term “hater” because it’s over used and abused amongst sports fans…but to this madness (especially Dan Gilbert) I say, “Hi Hater!”

Friday, many of my (actual) friends, Facebook friends and Twitter followers reached out and asked me what I thought about the situation. Before I reveal my profound thoughts, I thought I’d share a few of your thoughts.

O. Magana: “This isn’t Laker fan O. talking because I would have this opinion even if the Celtics were the ones getting vetoed: It’s crazy Stern did this and wrong on so many levels. Players having less of a say where they can perform, league penalizing a team for being in   ‘big market’…Big names on rosters do not a championship make – just ask the Heat. I didn’t like how LeBron/Heat went about stacking their team but I didn’t like how everyone cried, ‘It’s not fair.’ Cavs had their chance to win with LeBron. If owners want ‘fair’ then why not blow up every roster yearly and redraft so every team can get a ‘fair shot’ at talent? This is professional sports, not fantasy league or CARD (community) basketball.”

Melissa H.: “I think Stern is in a bit of a lose-lose situation here. He is just going to have to pick his poison. Have the largest fan-base in the NBA, (then) CP3 & the media hate you… or look like a hypocrite about the ‘competitive balance’ cited in the lockout.”

B. Fitz: “This is totally about the league owning the team and wanting to sell it. Star power like CP3 obviously sells tickets, and that trade would have given them a pretty good team that could win…and winning puts buts in seats as well.”

There is so much more where that came from…fans are fired up (as you should be)….feel free to comment accordingly. Your two cents is valued.

So here it is folks…I will say my peace and then zip it!

I’m by no means a Lakers fan. Hello! I’m from Sacramento, but right is right…..and this is just bad on so many levels.

It’s bad for the New Orleans fans. I mean, if Chris Paul wants to leave…by all means let him go. I also feel bad for the players who found out about the trade in an abrupt matter. Who wants to work in a place where you know you’re not wanted or valued? Of course Lamar Odom showed up to training camp…it’s his job to do so. Wouldn’t you report to work? DUH! David Stern pretty much cut the legs off general manager Dell Demps. Demps got the deal done and the boss man nixed it…Man That Sucks!  Lastly, Dan Gilbert needs to go sit down somewhere! Sir we all know that you’re still bitter because LeBron James decided to take his talents to South Beach…Get Over IT! Move On! Let Go! and Breathe!

That brings us to Saturday.  ESPN is reporting that the three-team trade has been resubmitted but details of the new deal haven’t been disclosed so who knows what will happen next.

What I do know is that the NBA had such a tumultuous, extended off-season that officials should be giving fans a reason to pick up where they left off last year. But I guess if we are honest about it, last season ended dramatically so I guess we are picking up where we left off.

This trade fiasco could be a serious deal breaker with fans so I’m hoping it gets resolved soon so we can all get back to the game of basketball.

###

Posted in: Basketball, NBA, Sports