Thankful!

Posted on November 25, 2011

3


Thanksgiving has come and gone but for a lot of us the food, football and family festivities last all weekend. My family has dinner on Wednesday night so that we are free to chill out on Thanksgiving Day. It works soooo much better for me because I get to sit in my pajamas and watch the games. Honestly, this new family tradition allows me to be a bum, eat left overs and shout at the television without any interruptions. I didn’t get dressed until about 3:30 pm on Thanksgiving Day. Lol don’t judge me! Join ME!

My mom made it her business to make sure I didn’t miss “my game.” She came into my room at 7:30 a.m. to wake me. I have no idea why she thought it started so early but I appreciate her respect for the love of my life none-the-less. All of the NFL games played Thursday were pretty awesome.

The Packers started my day off right, with a WIN over the Detroit Lions; they are now 11-0. I actually respect the Lions for giving the Pack a decent 1st half defensively, but the 2nd half was filled with penalties, frustration and it proved to be too much for the Lions. I hate to say I told you so…but I did! The Packers mean business…its serious!

Another serious matter is Detroit Lions defensive lineman Ndamukong Suh. Suh was ejected during the third quarter when he got caught pushing Green Bay offensive lineman Evan Dietrich-Smith’s head to the turf a few times, he then stomped on his right arm and got ejected. Matters worsened when he gave a sorry excuse for his actions during the post-game conference.

“I was on top of a guy being pulled down and trying to get up off the ground, which is why you see me pushing his helmet down,” Suh stated. “As I’m getting up, I’m getting pushed so I’m getting myself unbalanced… With that a lot of people are going to interpret it as or create their own storylines, but I know what I did, and the man upstairs knows what I did.”

Uhhhhmmmmm…Spare me SIR! We all know that you did it on purpose. That’s why a pseudo explanation was given Friday on Facebook. I think it was supposed to be an apology but since “I’m sorry” or “I apologize” weren’t included in the statement I can’t really say that he is remorseful. I think he knows that NFL Commissioner, Roger Goodell is going to take action. Suh recently met with Goodell to discuss his style of play, but we all know that there is a difference in playing dirty and being a tough lineman. He’s already paid several fines this year and if hitting a man’s pocket isn’t getting his attention then nothing will. The Lions defense is very different without Suh, the momentum completely shifted after he was ejected, but something tells me that 27-15 loss is just the beginning, so they better get accustomed to playing without him.

The Dallas Cowboys also won at home, beating the Miami Dolphins 20-19. The Cowboys know how to give a sistah a heart attack. I’m not even a fan like that but it was a nail-biter at the end. Just when the Dolphins thought they’d put the WIN in the bag, (QB)Tony Romo and (RB) DeMarco Murray set up a nice drive for Dan Bailey, who scored a 28-yard field goal. The Cowboys are now leading the NFC East. We will see how long that last lol.

And…What’s Thanksgiving without a little family football? Most of us just hit the backyard or the streets for bragging rights but the Harbaugh’s put a new meaning to the term “sibling rivalry.” {Big Brother} John Harbaugh’s Baltimore Ravens put it on {Little Brother} Jim Harbaugh’s 49ers. The Ravens defense delivered nine sacks on the night, proving they were too much for the (9-2) Niners. That was with Ray Lewis on the sideline…I don’t want to think of what would have happened if he’d played. Eek!

I can’t wait for the Packers and 49ers to play in the NFC Championship game…that is if they don’t fall off 1st. ahahahahha

All in all it was an awesome day. I went to bed full and woke up on Friday just to do it all again. While most people were out shopping the Black Friday sales, I was all about the LSU-Arkansas match up. It was a decent game but turn overs hurt Arkansas and then LSU did what LSU does and well that’s a wrap. The fellas are solid contenders and BCS is crap so we will soon have another controversy on our hands, because as much as I hate to say it Alabama is probably going to run over Auburn in the Iron Bowl Saturday and then the voting begins. The BCS is stupid…I hope that someone gets some get right and implements a playoff system. That’s wishful thinking, I know!

Anyhow, there were so many good games Friday that I couldn’t watch them all but West Virginia stunned Pitt in the final minutes of the Backyard Brawl. Both teams are scheduled to leave the Big East and are headed for other conferences so this was quite a way to end the rivalry.

We also learned that UCLA will be playing Oregon in the Pac 12 Championship game next week. #HatedIt! UCLA is about to get railed…whatever.

So much can change overnight in college football that I’ve learned to sit back, watch it unfold and insert my two cents along the way. Saturday is a new day and while I’m praying for a Bama upset it’s probably not going to happen.

I’m watching Cal play Arizona State now, and I will be up Saturday morning ready for more. Yep! Day 3: More  friends, family, food (leftovers) and (OF COURSE) football.

Yes I’m Thankful!

###

Posted in: boxing, NFL, Sports