We Will Never Forget!

Posted on September 12, 2011

0


Most people remember exactly where they were when they heard that America was under attack. Emotions ran high as we experienced terror and destruction. Not only was our safety jeopardized, but innocent lives were taken and everything that we held sacred as a country was now on the line.

Life as we knew it would never be the same again…the way we operated would change forever. This proud, strong country faced its weakest moment and all we could do was find strength in God and each other. For the first time ever we weren’t classified by race, socioeconomic status, age or gender. We weren’t Black, White, Asian, or Latino, we were American.

I recall a wakeup call from my mother on the morning of 9-11-01. I didn’t understand what she was trying to tell me so I turned on the television just in time to see the second plane fly into the twin towers. I frantically got dressed and went to school only to find that CSULB was on alert and all of my classes were cancelled. I had friends and family members in various parts of the East Coast, and after several failed attempts to contact them I began to pray. Ironically, this was also the first time that America collectively called on God….terror had struck, lives were lost, and we had no direction as a country.

That was also the year that I began my internship with the Los Angeles Clippers. I had just visited the Staples Center a week earlier with no problems, but when I went back just days after 9-11 there were security measures in place because the country was on high alert. In fact, every college campus, airport, federal building and sporting venue was on alert.

As President Bush scrambled to figure out how to respond to Al Qaeda, Bud Selig (MLB Commissioner) and Paul Tagliabue (former NFL Commissioner) had to decide how to respond to fans. Let’s face it, there isn’t anything more American than baseball and football. So the question was, do we play it safe and cancel the games or do we carry on and send a message to our attackers?

The games were played as scheduled. I remember nervously sitting in front of my television hoping and praying that the terrorists hadn’t found a way to hit America in the gut, again. I mean they’d already struck American symbols and wiped us out…but successfully hitting a nationally televised sporting event would just kill any hopes of a short-term recovery.

I remember the sights and sounds as the men took the field that Sunday morning…they ran out of the tunnels proud, fierce and courageous, waving big American flags while shouting “USA!” They wore patches on their team jerseys, some saluted the crowd and honored our firefighters, and others cried during the National Anthem. The New York Giants game was especially emotional. As New York service men and women took the field with President Bush, there was a moment of silence followed by a roar of cheers and tears from the fans and players on the field. I feel like it was their way of expressing what every American felt…we would bounce back with a vengeance. That’s what Americans do!

Ten years later, as the New York Jets and Dallas Cowboys (America’s Team) took the field, I felt proud to be an American again! So much has happened since 2001 because we collectively made a decision to Never Forget the lives that were taken but to always honor, cherish and respect each other and this great country.

I often say that football is a reflection of life. The New York Jets were down in the 4th Quarter, and just as things looked bleak, two big defensive plays by Reevis and Wright turned things around. Tony Romo also contributed to that (W) but since I’m trying to end this post on a high note I won’t even start in on him lol…let’s save that for tomorrow!

Tonight as I watch the various highlights and pre-game ceremonies, I see players, fans and coaches crying, holding and waving vibrant American flags. I see the Jets and Giants staff dawning NY Police and FDNY hats, and signs waving throughout stadiums across the U.S that read “We Will Never Forget!”

Tonight’s Blast is dedicated to AMERICA! #weshallNEVERforget!

B-List!

Plaxico Burress is on tonight’s B-List! His return took a back seat to the 10th anniversary of 9-11 but he still deserves a shout out! He came out today and caught 4 passes for 72 yards and scored a 26 yard TD. Not bad! Plax is BACK!!!!!!!

###

